Tag Archives: PRASHAD

MOT targets to increase India’s FTAs to 1% by 2020 and 2% by 2025 in world’s international tourist arrivals

KJ Alphons, Union Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism has said that the Ministry is targeting to increase India’s share of Foreign Tourist Arrivals (FTAs) in world’s international tourist arrivals to 1 per cent by 2020 and to 2 per cent by 2025. The share of India’s FTAs in during 2016 was 0.71 per cent, while the share of India’s International Tourist Arrivals (which includes Foreign Tourist Arrivals and arrival of Non Resident Nationals) in world’s International Tourist Arrivals during 2016 was 1.18%. Ministry of Tourism has two flagship schemes – Swadesh Darshan – Integrated Development of Theme Based Tourist Circuits, and PRASHAD – Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive for creation of tourism infrastructure, generating pro-tourism culture in the people. MOT has launched Social Awareness Media Campaigns with the objective of sensitising stakeholders in the tourism industry as well as the general public about the importance of good conduct and behaviour towards tourists and reinforce the spirit of ‘Atithi devo Bhava’.

Read More »

MOT sanctions over Rs 5600 crore under Swadesh Darshan

An amount of Rs 5638.87 crore has been sanctioned with release of Rs 2148.17 crore since 2014-15 till date under the Swadesh Darshan scheme of Ministry of Tourism. Under the scheme, 13 thematic circuits have been identified for development namely, North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit. Meanwhile, under the PRASHAD scheme, 23 projects have been sanctioned to 15 states for a total amount of Rs 687.92 crore with release of Rs 241.28 crore since 2015-16 till date. The objective of the ‘National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive’ (PRASHAD) is of holistic development of identified pilgrimage and heritage destination.

Read More »

Rs 203 cr for UP from 2016-18 under Ramayana & Krishna Circuits

The Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned projects worth over Rs 203 cr for Uttar Pradesh alone for the development of Ramayana and Krishna circuit in UP, Haryana and Rajasthan under the Swadesh Darshan scheme. Under the Ramyana Circuit, the sites of Ayodhya, Nandigram, Shringverpur & Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh), Sitamarhi, Buxar & Darbhanga (Bihar), Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh), Mahendragiri (Odisha), Jagdalpur (Chattisgarh), Nashik & Nagpur (Maharashtra), Bhadrachalam (Telangana), Hampi (Karnataka) and Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu) have been included. The Krishna Circuit involves the sites of Dwarka (Gujarat); Nathdwara, Jaipur & Sikar (Rajasthan); Kurukshetra (Haryana), Mathura, Vrindavan, Gokul, Barsana, Nandgaon & Govardhan (Uttar Pradesh) and Puri (Odisha). The projects sanctioned under the scheme have a gestation period of 18-36 months and are subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable Detailed Project Reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilisation of funds released earlier. No proposal has been received in the Ministry for the development of Sita Circuit. The Ministry also has the PRASHAD scheme (National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive) for holistic development of identified pilgrimage destinations in the country. Under the scheme, 25 sites have been identified for development.

Read More »